PGA Grand Slam of Golf

The Most Exclusive Event in Golf

From 1994 to 2006, Poipu Bay Golf Course played host to the annual PGA Grand Slam of Golf, one of the most prestigious competitions in the golf world. Each year, the PGA invited only the winners of the four major championships (the Masters, the U.S. Open, the British Open, and the PGA Championship) to compete in the incredibly exclusive event.

The Grand Slam was a 36-hole stroke-play event conducted over two days. The most prominent names in golf have graced the greens at Poipu Bay during this event, such as: Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Vijay Singh, Retief Goosen, Justin Leonard, Davis Love III, David Duval, Tom Lehman, Paul Azinger, Jose Maria Olazabal, Ernie Els, Mark O’Meara and Greg Norman.

Bringing out the Best

In the 1997 Grand Slam, Tiger Woods executed an incredible sand shot on Poipu Bay’s signature 16th hole, a shot he described as one of the best he’s ever played. When Woods saw his ball buried in wet sand on a severe down slope in a greenside bunker, he said “I thought I was a dead man.” Woods tried what he described as a “100 to 1 shot,” as he lifted his club straight into the air and chopped down into the sand like an axe. The ball shot forward, hit the grass embankment, jumped straight up into the air and continued forward, stopping two feet from the hole. Woods knocked the putt in for what he calls “one of the best pars of my life.” In 2003, T&L Golf magazine ranked it as one of the “Top Ten Best Shots” of Woods’ career.

Tiger Woods returned to the PGA Grand Slam of Golf to set an event record by taking first place in the competition for five consecutive years from 1998 through 2002, followed by two more victories in 2005 and 2006. The prolific golfer would’ve won the event nine times in a row, but was foiled by Jim Furyk, who won in 2003, and Phil Mickleson, who took home the first place pot in 2004.

Read More

PGA Grand Slam of Golf Champions 1994-2006

Year Winner Score
1994 Greg Norman 70-66-136
Nick Price 70-69-139
Ernie Els 72-71-143
Jose Maria Olazabal 74-70-144
1995 Ben Crenshaw 72-68-140
Corey Pavin 71-70-141
Steve Elkington 71-70-141
John Daly 73-73-146
1996 Tom Lehman 68-66-134
Steve Jones 70-66-136
Nick Faldo 67-72-139
Mark Brooks 74-73-147
1997 Ernie Els 68-65-133
Tiger Woods 66-70-136
Davis Love III 71-67-138
Justin Leonard 77-72-149
1998 Tiger Woods def. Vijay Singh (match play)
3rd Place: Lee Janzen def. Mark O'Meara (match play)
1st Round: Tiger Woods def. Lee Janzen (match play)
1st Round: Vijay Singh def. Mark O'Meara (match play)
1999 Tiger Woods def. Davis Love III (match play)
3rd Place: Jose Maria Olazabal def. Paul Lawrie (match play)
1st Round: Tiger Woods def. Paul Lawrie (match play)
1st Round: Davis Love III def. Jose Maria Olazabal (match play)
2000 Tiger Woods 71-68-139
Vijay Singh 69-70-139
Tom Lehman 73-70-143
Paul Azinger 74-74-148
Year Winner Score
2001 Tiger Woods 67-65-132
David Toms 68-67-135
Retief Goosen 71-66-137
David Duval 76-72-148
2002 Tiger Woods 66-61-127
Justin Leonard 69-72-141
Davis Love III 72-69-141
Rich Beem 72-73-145
2003 Jim Furyk 67-68-135
Mike Weir 72-71-143
Shaun Micheel 75-70-145
Ben Curtis 73-73-146
2004 Phil Mickelson 68-59-127
Vijay Singh 66-66-132
Retief Goosen 65-68-133
Todd Hamilton 70-75-145
2005 Tiger Woods 67-64-131
Phil Mickelson 70-68-138
Michael Campbell 73-70-143
Vijay Singh 75-69-144
2006 Tiger Woods 70-66-136
Jim Furyk 67-71-138
Geoff Ogilvy 68-74-142
Mike Weir 71-74-145